### **Board Meeting Minutes**

#### **DATE:** May 7, 2018

**PRESENT:** Chair Mildred A. Council, Vice Chair Anna Barrett Smith, Caroline W. Doherty, Melinda Fagundus, Betsy Flanagan, Worth Forbes, Benjie Forrest, Robert Moore, and Mary Blount Williams

**ALSO PRESENT:** Dr. Ethan Lenker, Cheryl Olmsted, Dr. Ve-Lecia Council, Debra Baggett, Matt Johnson, Dr. Travis Lewis, and Media

ATTORNEY: Emma J. Hodson

**TIME:** 6:30 P.M.

**PLACE:** 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Boardroom, Pitt County Office Building, 1717 West 5<sup>th</sup> Street, Greenville, NC 27834

1) Start of Meeting

A) Chair Council called the Board of Education Regular Board meeting to order at 6:30 P.M.

B) Worth Forbes led the Board members in the Pledge of Allegiance and ended with a prayer.

#### 2) <u>Routine Business</u>

A) Adjustments to the Agenda

Robert Moore made a motion, with a second from Mary Blount Williams, to approve the Agenda as presented. Motion to approve was unanimous.

#### B) Spotlight on Teaching and Learning

1) Fritz Robinett, District Specialist for Elementary & Middle Grades Science, introduced Dr. Adam Philipps, a science teacher from G.R. Whitfield and a group of his students for recently being a Grand Prize winner in the Biogen Spark Video Contest. The video titled "Genetic Mutations" was named one of five finalists for NC middle schools and received a \$1500 cash prize. After online voting took place, the students also won \$10,000 dollars as one of the top six 2018 Grand Prize winning videos. The students who participated in the video contest included Madison Clements, Olivia Knight, Drew Allen, Morgan Haddock, McKinley Manning, Bryan Carter, and Mackenzie Mills. Benjie Forrest, on behalf of the Board members, presented each student with a "Creating Excellence in the East" Award. 2) Mr. Robinett introduced Anthony Wade, STEM Lab Facilitator at Ayden Middle School, and some of his students for recently participating in the Future Leaders' Pavilion at Fort Bragg's TechNet Symposium - held at Fort Bragg with the goal: "to allow a forum to demonstrate new, innovative ideas and share best practices that promote valuable results to technology challenges faced by our military today." Mr. Wade's students were the **ONLY** group of middle school students who participated in the Future Leaders' Pavilion. One group of his students won a \$200 cash prize and an HP Laptop, while 7 other students were awarded Amazon Echo Dots. The year-long STEM students present were Chelsea Jolly, Marisa Sullivan, and Joslyn Russell. Other students in Mr. Wade's class include Holly Cannon, Anthony Cano-Hernandez, Ashlee Capizzi, Caleb Daugherty, Jordan Frazier, Ivy Johnson, Cadence Kistler, Dillon Koonce, Abby Langemann, Gabe Munoz, Cooper Pilgreen, Yaneth Quiroz-Meza, Matthew Roth, Clayton Shaver, Christian Shearouse, and Phoebe Starnes. Worth Forbes, on behalf of the Board members, presented each of Mr. Wade's students with a "Creating Excellence in the East" Award.

3) Mr. Robinett introduced Allie Smith, a science teacher at C.M. Eppes Middle School for being awarded the John C. Park Award for New Teachers, given by ECU's Center for STEM Education. This award is named in honor of John C. Park, a 25-year veteran of NC State's and Baylor University's Education Departments and provides a science teacher, in their first five years of teaching, with funds to attend the annual National Science Teachers Association (NSTA) Conference on Science Education. Ms. Smith received a \$1500 travel stipend that was used to attended the NSTA Conference in Atlanta, GA. Later this fall, as part of the award she will present what she learned at NSTA Conference as part of *ECU's Taft STEM Speaker Series*. Caroline Doherty, on behalf of the Board members, presented Ms. Smith with a "Creating Excellence in the East" Award

### C) Public Expression

No one was present for Public Expression.

# 3) Consent Agenda

Robert Moore made a motion to approve the consent items as presented, with a second from Caroline Doherty. The Consent Agenda items included the following:

- April 26, 2018 Emergency Board Meeting minutes,
- April 16, 2018 Board Meeting minutes,
- April 16, 2018 Board Work Session Meeting minutes,
- April 16, 2018 Joint Board Meeting minutes with the County Commissioners,
- April 16, 2018 Closed Session minutes,

Minutes Recorder: Carol Rankin

- Personnel Report for April 16, 2018,
- Substitute Report for May 7, 2018,
- Annual Personnel Action Report for 2018-2019,
- Revised Policy 4316, Student Dress Code and Appearance,
- Student Transfer Hearings and Athletic Hearing Board Panel Recommendations.

With no discussion, the motion to approve the Consent Agenda passed unanimously.

### 4) <u>Closing Comments:</u>

Closing comments were made by Dr. Lenker, Board Members, and Chair Council.

## 5) <u>Adjourn:</u>

Mary Blount Williams made a motion to adjourn with a second by Anna Barrett Smith. The motion to adjourn passed unanimously. Time adjourned was 7:15 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,

Mildred A. Council, Chair

Dr. Ethan Lenker, Secretary