Board Meeting Minutes

DATE: May 6, 2019

PRESENT: Chair Anna Barrett Smith, Vice Chair Betsy Flanagan, Amy Cole, Tracy Everette-Lenz, Caroline W. Doherty, Melinda Fagundus, Worth Forbes, and Benjie Forrest, and Mary Blount Williams

ALSO PRESENT: Dr. Ethan Lenker, Jennifer L. Johnson, Debra Baggett, Matt Johnson, Dr. Ve-Lecia Council, Dr. Steve Lassiter, and Media

IN-HOUSE COUNSEL: Emma J. Hodson

TIME: 6:30 P.M.

PLACE: Court Room, Farmville Town Hall, 2637 Main Street, Farmville, NC, 27828

1) Start of Meeting

- A) Chair Smith called the Board of Education meeting to order in Regular Session on May 6, 2019 at 6:30 P.M. in the Court Room, Farmville Town Hall, 2637 Main Street, Farmville, NC, 27828.
- B) Chair Smith called on Scout Troop 9046 members to present the Colors. Scout member Landon Reynolds led the Board members in the Pledge of Allegiance.
- C) Amy Cole led the Board members in a moment of silence and ended in a prayer.
- D) Town Commissioner John Moore and Mayor Robert Evans welcomed the Board members and thanked them for holding the meeting in Farmville.

2) Routine Business

A) Adjustments to the Agenda

Caroline Doherty made a motion to approve the Agenda as presented with a second by Mary Blount Williams. The motion to approve the Agenda as presented passed unanimously.

B) Spotlight of Teaching and Learning

Public Information Officer Jennifer L. Johnson introduced the Farmville principals who shared the following Good News from their schools with the Board members.

Minutes Recorder: Carol Rankin

Ms. Alison Setser, principal from H.B. Sugg and Sam D. Bundy, shared the following school information:

- AVID as a Showcase School
- Mini-Grants
- Food Lion Math Night
- Farmville Schools-A-Palooza

Mr. Lorenzo Lee, principal from Farmville Middle School, shared the following school information:

- OWLS- Occupations Women Likely Skip
- Poetry and Art Show
- Mini-Grant
- Boys Basketball Conference Champs
- Students accepted to PCECHS and IECHS

Mr. Brad Johnson, principal from Farmville Central High School, shared the following school information:

- 2-A Women's Basketball State Runner-Up
- Lady Jags Soccer Conference Champions
- FFA Grants for Growing award, Regional Forestry Competition Winner
- Boneyard Robotics and Pitt Pirates Robotics Teams

C) Public Expression

No one was present for public expression.

3. Consent Agenda

Vice Chair Flanagan made a motion to approve the consent items, with a second from Worth Forbes. The motion to approve the Consent Agenda for May 6, 2019, passed unanimously. The Consent Agenda items included the following:

- April 1, 2019, Regular Board meeting minutes
- April 15, 2019, Board Work Session minutes
- April 1, 2019, Closed Session Board minutes
- April 15, 2019, Closed Session Board minutes
- Personnel Report for May 6, 2019
- Annual Personnel Action Report for 2019-2020
- 2018-2019 Budget Amendment #2
- Technology Department Redundant Server Purchase

With no discussion, the motion to approve the Consent Agenda passed unanimously.

4. New Business:

The first item under New Business was the approval of the reappointment of Dr. Peter Kragel to the Pitt Community College Board of Trustees. The information was discussed at the April 15, 2019, Board Work Session. Board member Amy Cole recused herself from the vote. Mary Blount Williams made a motion to approve the reappointment of Dr. Peter Kragel to the PCC Board of Trustees, with a second from Caroline Doherty. The motion to approve the reappointment passed unanimously.

The next item under New Business was approval of the 2019-2020 Proposed Budget. Debra Baggett, Chief Financial Officer, shared a presentation of the proposed budget and requested approval. Caroline Doherty made a motion to approve the proposed 2019-2020 Budget, with a second from Mary Blount Williams. The motion to approve the 2019-2020 Budget passed unanimously.

5. Closing Comments

Closing comments were made by Dr. Lenker, Board members, and Chair Smith.

6. Adjourn

Vice Chair Betsy Flanagan made a motion to adjourn with a second from Mary Blount Williams. The motion to adjourn passed unanimously. Time adjourned was 8:19 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,
Anna Barrett Smith, Chair
Dr. Ethan Lenker, Secretary