# **Board Meeting Minutes**

**DATE:** January 6, 2020

**PRESENT:** Chair Betsy Flanagan, Vice Chair Melinda Fagundus, Amy Cole, Tracy Everette-Lenz, Caroline W. Doherty, Benjie Forrest, Worth Forbes, Anna Barrett Smith, Mary Blount Williams

**ALSO PRESENT:** Dr. Ethan Lenker, Jennifer L. Johnson, Debra Baggett, Matt Johnson, Dr. Ve-Lecia Council, Dr. Steve Lassiter, and Media

**IN-HOUSE COUNSEL:** Emma J. Hodson

**TIME:** 6:30 P.M.

**PLACE:** 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Boardroom, 1717 West 5<sup>th</sup> Street, Greenville, NC 27834

#### 1) Start of Meeting

- A) Chair Flanagan called the Board of Education meeting to order in Regular Session on January 6, 2020, at 6:30 P.M. in the 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Board Room, 1717 West 5<sup>th</sup> Street, Greenville, NC 27834.
- B) Amy Cole led the Board members in the pledge of allegiance and a moment of silence, ending in prayer.

#### 2) Routine Business

A) Adjustments to the Agenda

Anna Barrett Smith made a motion to approve the Agenda as presented with a second by Mary Blount Williams. The motion to approve the Agenda as presented passed unanimously.

- B) Spotlight on Teaching and Learning Public Information Officer Jennifer L. Johnson introduced the following individuals to the Board members:
- 1) Carnegie Hall's 2020 High School Honors Performance Series
  The Board members recognized Christopher Sherrod, a junior at South Central
  High School, for being selected to perform as part of the 2020 High School
  Honors Performance Series. Christopher will perform at Carnegie Hall in
  February 2020 with other talented student musicians from around the world.
  With a request from Chair Flanagan, Christopher tapped out an amazing
  rhythm on the podium. On behalf of the Board members, Chair Flanagan

Minutes Recorder: Carol Rankin

presented Christopher with a 'Creating Excellence in the East' certificate and a Pitt County Schools medallion.

# 2) NC Student-Athletes' Advisory Council

The Board members recognized Jordan Taylor for being chosen to serve on the NC Student-Athlete' Advisory Council. On behalf of the Board members, Tracy Everette-Lenz, presented Jordan with a 'Creating Excellence in the East' certificate and a Pitt County Schools medallion.

# 3) C.M. Eppes Middle School Media Grant Recognition

The Board members recognized Amelia White, C.M. Eppes media coordinator, for recently receiving a grant totaling \$54,318.00 to renovate the media center. On behalf of the Board members, Ms. Doherty presented Ms. White with a 'Creating Excellence in the East' certificate.

# 4) North Carolina National Distinguished Title I School

The Board members recognized principal Wynn Whittington from Pitt County Early College High School for his school being awarded the NC National Distinguished Title I School for the second year in a row. On behalf of the Board members, Tracy Everette-Lenz presented Mr. Whittington with a 'Creating Excellence in the East' certificate.

## C) Public Expression

No one was present for public expression.

#### 3. Consent Agenda

Caroline Doherty made a motion to approve the consent items, with a second from Anna Barrett Smith. The motion to approve the Consent Agenda for January 6, 2020, passed unanimously. The Consent Agenda items included the following:

- December 2, 2019, Board Meeting minutes
- December 16, 2019, Board Work Session minutes
- Personnel Report for January 6, 2020
- Revised Policy 7241: Drug and Alcohol of Commercial Motor Vehicle Operators
- 2018-2019 Financial Audit
- 2019-2020 Beginning Teachers Plan

With no discussion, the motion to approve the Consent Agenda passed unanimously.

#### 4. New Business

Thomas Feller, Director of Professional Learning & Leadership Development, and Seth Brown, Director of Educator Support and Leadership Development, shared the R3 Framework: Recruit, Retain and Reward - Year 2 Annual Evaluation Report with the Board Members. Some of the information shared included the following implementation findings:

- Number of positions filled
- Fidelity to the roles
- Delivery of supports
- Teacher satisfaction

# 5. Closing Comments

Closing comments were made by Dr. Lenker, Board members, and Chair Flanagan.

### 6. Adjourn

Anna Barrett Smith made a motion to adjourn with a second from Mary Blount Williams. The motion to adjourn passed unanimously. Time adjourned was 7:32 P.M.

Respectfully Submitted,
Elizabeth M. Flanagan, Chair
Dr. Ethan Lenker, Secretary

Minutes Recorder: Carol Rankin