Return to Headlines

Principal and AP of the Year Announced

porincipal and assistant principal of the Year

(pictured: Dr. Ethan Lenker- Superintendent, Michael Casey, Dr. Chena Cayton and Board Chair, Anna Barrett Smith)

Principal and Assistant Principal of the Year Winners Announced

October 10, 2019

Pitt County Schools is pleased to announce that Dr. Chena Cayton, Principal of Ayden-Grifton High School, has been named the district’s Principal of the Year for 2019, while Michael Casey of G.R. Whitfield School has been named Assistant Principal of the Year. Nominees and award winners were recognized Wednesday evening, October 10, 2019, at the Rock Springs Center at a ceremony graciously sponsored by Pitt County Farm Bureau. This annual event recognizes some of the top leaders within Pitt County Schools.

Dr. Cayton, a graduate of East Carolina University, has been an educator for twenty one years. She has served as Principal of AGHS for the past five years. Mr. Casey, who has served as an Assistant Principal at G.R. Whitfield School for two years and is a graduate of State University of New York and North Carolina State University. 

The nominees for Principal of the Year were:

Colleen Burt, Principal of Elmhurst Elementary School

Dr. Chena Cayton, Principal of Ayden-Grifton High School

Sara English, Principal of Northwest Elementary School

Marieka Harrison, Principal of Ayden Middle School

Jennifer James, Principal of Innovation Early College High School

Norman McDuffie, Principal of A.G. Cox Middle School

Darryl Thomas, Jr., Principal of E.B. Aycock Middle School


The nominees for Assistant Principal of the Year were:

Linda Brantley- A.G. Cox Middle School, Michael Casey- G.R. Whitfield School, Tarrus Carr- D.H. Conley High School, Greg McDaid- South Central High School, Lisa Robbins- H.B. Sugg School


Please join us in congratulating all of these exceptional leaders in Pitt County Schools.